Geaux Lead. Geaux Fight. Geaux Win. 

Landrieu fails to deliver on another ObamaCare promise

Mary Landrieu’s argument that she has the ‘clout’ to deliver for Louisiana families took another hit yesterday. Despite promising she would do something to help the tens of thousands of Louisiana residents that lost their health insurance because of her vote to create ObamaCare, Senator Landrieu was again ineffective in turning that promise into reality. Senate Democrats blocked a bill to fix the problem from even coming to the floor for a vote.

“Mary Landrieu voted to create ObamaCare, but her claims about fixing the law are as hollow as the broken promises she sold it on in the first place. It makes you wonder whether Landrieu really cares about Louisianans losing their health insurance to ObamaCare or whether her concern is just another election year gimmick to try and save her struggling campaign.”  - Ben Voelkel, RNC spokesman


 Senate Dems block House's 'keep your plan' bill

The Hill

Ramsey Cox

September 17, 2014


Sen. Chris Murphy (D-Conn.) blocked Sen. David Vitter (R-La.) from passing a bill to allow people to keep their insurance plans under ObamaCare even if the coverage doesn't meet all of its requirements.


Vitter asked for unanimous consent to pass H.R. 3522, which the House passed last week in a 247-167 vote. Murphy objected, saying it would allow insurance companies to discriminate against women and people with preexisting conditions.


Vitter said the bill would fulfill President Obama’s campaign promise, that “if you like your plan, you can keep it.”


“The bill is limited, focused and straight forward,” Vitter said on the Senate floor Wednesday. “It would not repeal ObamaCare. It would fix that part of ObamaCare.”


House Republicans pushed the legislation, which had already received a vote this year, ahead of the midterm elections. The lead sponsor, Rep. Bill Cassidy (R-La.), is campaigning to unseat Sen. Mary Landrieu (D-La.) in a closely watched race that could decide which party controls the Senate in 2015.

Paid for by the Republican Party of Louisiana. Not authorized by any candidate or candidates committee.